2.2. Saving the game state

Many games do not have a save game option. This means that you have to start again from the beginning of the game, or, if the game has passwords, the beginning of the level, every time you die. Desktop Hacker can save an entire game position. This means that you can save the game just before a particularly tricky bit, and re-load if you fail, so you don‘t have to go through everything before it again. Also, saving a game means you can return to it at a later date.

To save a game position, interrupt the game at the point you wish to save, open the main menu, and the Save submenu. Go over the Position item, and drag the icon to save in the normal way.

To load a game position back in, simply drag it to the Desktop Hacker icon whilst hacking the game. If you have quit the game and re-loaded it since saving the position, this sometimes does not work, because Desktop Hacker cannot save some aspects of the game's setup. It depends on the game; there are no problems with most.


--) Saving screenshots
(-- Slowing down (and speeding up)
/\ Using the in-game features


ajc@doggysoft.co.uk
23rd April 1998